This morning we had some delicious plantains that I just can’t get enough of. After that, we headed to the palapa (hut) to listen to an inspiring talk by Maria Luisa Zaragoza. This lady is truly amazing; she has helped with community development in the pueblo of Cuentepec. She has helped bring training to those of the Pueblo so that they can make pottery and embroidery to sell.

What fascinated me was that not only was she teaching Cuentepec about gender equality, solidarity, economy and leadership for women, but also about environmental issues. When I think “community developer” I think Obama and I think “progressive”. I see Maria as a truly progressive force and I think more people should follow in her lead.

Xochicalco was AMAZING! Even though it was really, really hot, we had a beautiful view from our height. It was just unbelievable that we were standing on ruins that were inhabited centuries ago by indigenous peoples. Going into the underground observatory was especially fascinating.

We walked through passageways that were once used only by the religious leaders and a limited amount of others. Being in the dark and humid underground chamber and seeing the light flow in through the vertical shaft was impressionable. I can only imagine how great it would be to be there on summer solstice.

Memorable quote: me to Stine
“This would be the perfect beginning to a horror movie.”

P.S. I feel like I have to add a quote, too:
“It is better to die on your feet then live on your knees.” – Emiliano Zapata

Think about it.

-Evelyn Ibarra ‘11