When we went to the Metropolitan Cathedral, I was really excited (since I’m Catholic and all) to see the beautiful huge Cathedral with the wonderful artwork and statues that lined the walls and many prayer stations that they had where you could light a candle, put a pin, or put a ribbon and say a prayer.

While walking around looking at the statues and artwork, an overwhelming emotion came over me seeing all of the saints and the different depictions of Jesus. The hardest one to bear was probably the statue of Jesus sitting on a thrown with the cross on his back and the thorns on his head. It just made me remember once again that Jesus died for us, for our sins to be forgiven, and I thought that this was unreal to see especially during the season of Lent.

I think that this experience will stay with me for quite a while: it was very humbling.

– Kim Hamon ‘11